craiglindner

a view through a lens.

Year in Pictures

with 2 comments

Time passes, and looking back, 2008 was dominated by raising two wonderful boys.  This task left just a little time for photography, but I still saw marked improvement in my photoshop skills finally landing on a color look that I consider my style and continuing to improve in my black and white work (with the help of a couple of key actions).

2009 Goals:

  • Time: Concerted effort to spend more time shooting by setting a monthly goal.
  • Lighting & Posing: Improved understanding of light and expand into working with flash.
  • Landscapes: Expand time spent shooting landscapes.
  • People: Continued focus on shooting people as this is what inevitably brings me the most joy and the most meaning to my pictures.

Below are some of my favorites from the past year:

Morgan at just under a year.  An evolution of my contrasty black and white conversion.

Morgan at just under a year. An evolution of my contrasty black and white conversion.

Taken at Potbelly after Morgans first haircut.  Black and white conversion giving this a timeless feel.

Taken at Potbelly after Morgan's first haircut. Black and white conversion giving this a timeless feel.

Nothing special here except a big day for Morgan!

Nothing special here except a big day for Morgan!

Great capture from a repeat client with a new son.  Eyes just pull you into this picture.

Great capture from a repeat client with a new son. Eyes just pull you into this picture.

Colby awaiting the arrival of his little brother.

Colby awaiting the arrival of his little brother.

So happy I captured this picture of Great Grandma with all of her kids on her 90th birthday.  Later in 2008, Grandma left us, but she lived a great life and left on her own terms.

So happy I captured this picture of Great Grandma with all of her kids on her 90th birthday. Later in 2008, Grandma left us, but she lived a great life and left on her own terms.

Almost perfect.  The eyes here are stunning, but Melissas face detracts from the picture a bit.  Still a picture that wont be forgotten by mom.

Almost perfect. The eyes here are stunning, but Melissa's face detracts from the picture a bit. Still a picture that won't be forgotten by mom.

Perhaps my most precious capture of the year.  This was taken as Morgan worked across the desk from me one afternoon in the office.  Wish I could say I planned it, but I just picked up the camera and snapped a quick shot.  Nonetheless, this will be a priceless picture for years to come.

Perhaps my most precious capture of the year. This was taken as Morgan worked across the desk from me one afternoon in the office. Wish I could say I planned it, but I just picked up the camera and snapped a quick shot. Nonetheless, this will be a priceless picture for years to come.

A matching picture to go with the Morgan picture above.  Captures the spirit of one fantastic little guy.

A matching picture to go with the Morgan picture above. Captures the spirit of one fantastic little guy.

The arrival of cousin Quinton.  Photographing newborns is so fun.

The arrival of cousin Quinton. Photographing newborns is so fun.

This was a stretch for me.  I had the opportunity to shoot a few families this year and it was difficult.  Posing and lighting is a skill I have not yet acquired, but continue to strive to be better.  For now, this was ok.

This was a stretch for me. I had the opportunity to shoot a few families this year and it was difficult. Posing and lighting is a skill I have not yet acquired, but continue to strive to be better. For now, this was ok.

Taken in early summer.  I just thought this captured Owens spirit so well.

Taken in early summer. I just thought this captured Owen's spirit so well.

More black and white experimentation.  This shot of Morgan really brings him to life and shows his fun-loving and carefree personality.

More black and white experimentation. This shot of Morgan really brings him to life and shows his fun-loving and carefree personality.

Quintons Baptism.  This shot captured the emotions of the big day and I loved how the lighting turned out on this one.

Quinton's Baptism. This shot captured the emotions of the big day and I loved how the lighting turned out on this one.

A view from the cabin on the fourth of July.  The lighting here made this shot dramatic and captured the feeling of the holiday.

A view from the cabin on the fourth of July. The lighting here made this shot dramatic and captured the feeling of the holiday.

The highlight of the year was a trip to London and Paris to visit some friends.  These next shots are a bit touristy but show my continued interest in pushing my photography skills in hew directions.

The highlight of the year was a trip to London and Paris to visit some friends. These next shots are a bit "touristy" but show my continued interest in pushing my photography skills in new directions.

30am in the summer.  This picture gives me hope that I can develop the skill to take meaningful landscape pictures and look forward to the challenge in the year ahead.

Taken at about 5:30am in the summer. This picture gives me hope that I can develop the skill to take meaningful landscape pictures and look forward to the challenge in the year ahead.

This shot of Morgan sums up his determination to participate in any event that anyone else is doing.  The burden of being the baby of the family, but he shoulders it well.

This shot of Morgan sums up his determination to participate in any event that anyone else is doing. The burden of being the baby of the family, but he shoulder's it well.

Hopefully we look back on this picture with the realization that this was a turning point for our nation.

Hopefully we look back on this picture with the realization that this was a turning point for our nation.

A great capture of two great friends and brothers.  I knew that this would convert well into a black and white.  Hey, maybe Im learning something.

A great capture of two great friends and brothers. I knew that this would convert well into a black and white. Hey, maybe I'm learning something.

Hard to believe this little guy turned five this year.  He makes me so proud every day.  Being a big brother means a lot of firsts.  While apprehensive at the beginning, in the end Owen in always brave and is paving the way for his little brother.  Couldnt be happier with how well Owen is growing up.

Hard to believe this little guy turned five this year. He makes me so proud every day. Being a big brother means a lot of firsts. While apprehensive at the beginning, in the end Owen in always brave and is paving the way for his little brother. Couldn't be happier with how well Owen is growing up.

This is why I live, why I work, and why I dont spend as much time behind the camera as I would like.  But hey, theyre worth it.  A rare capture of me with Owen and Morgan over Christmas.

This is why I live, why I work, and why I don't spend as much time behind the camera as I would like. But hey, they're worth it. A rare capture of me with Owen and Morgan over Christmas.

A lot of pictures, but the choices were hard.  Thanks for tuning into my life in 2008 and I look forward to more and better results in 2009.

Written by craiglindner

January 4, 2009 at 11:29 am

Posted in Photography

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Craig, as I’ve told you in person, these photos are beautiful and you do have a great eye for mood and emotion. Your critique of lighting is not giving yourself enough credit for how wonderful you are already doing with light, shadows, highlights and contrast. Congratulations on a great 2008 photography year; I look forward to seeing all you do in 2009.

    Rob

    January 4, 2009 at 5:09 pm

  2. Craig,
    Great pictures! You do a fantastic job. So nice to see you with the boys. Priceless.
    Vicky

    Vicky Spaeth

    January 5, 2009 at 9:32 am


Leave a Reply

